Pastel Overview of Deleting Customer and Supplier Accounts
Before you can delete customer and supplier accounts, you need to be aware of the following issues:
The Account Balance Must be Zero
You cannot delete an account which has a balance. In the case of an inactive customer who still has a balance, you could either transfer the balance into a bad debts account so that you can delete it, or you could block the account until the amount is collected.
Tip If you write off an unpaid balance on a customer account, you may be able to claim a tax refund on the outstanding balance.
You cannot delete an account if there is invoice history for it. You control how much invoice history you keep in the system, by periodically deleting invoice history.
Whenever you process to a customer or supplier, Pastel creates a transaction to store the information. These transactions are stored for two financial years. When you need to delete an account, these transactions have to be dealt with.
We cannot delete these transactions without creating integrity problems – the system would go out of balance. Although the account's balance is zero, Pastel ensures that each entry type in each period balances, and deleting these transactions would put these balances out.
On the one hand, we cannot leave the transactions, since they are not attached to an account. Also, if in the future you were to create another account with the same code as the account you delete, then these transactions would incorrectly attach themselves to the new account.
Pastel solves this issue by using a dummy customer or supplier account, to which it transfers the transactions of all accounts it deletes. You need to create a customer or supplier account for this purpose. These accounts should be balance-forward, and they should be set to not print statements/remittances.
Deleting Customer and Supplier Accounts
Use the Change...Delete Inactive Customers / Suppliers menu option to delete old and/or inactive customers and suppliers.
Once you choose whether to delete customers or suppliers, you then have to choose an account to which to transfer the transactions of deleted accounts.
Next, you choose a range of accounts. If you wish to only delete one account, enter it here. Otherwise, in the next screen, you can specify inactivity criteria. Pastel will only delete zero balance accounts in the range you specify which also meet the criteria.
Deleting Accounts which have Never Been Used
If you create a customer or supplier account, and you never use the account, then you can use this Assistant to delete it. However, a quicker and simpler method is to use the Delete button in the edit screen for that account